Digital Cabinet

Polevaulter Donkeyman's rants, raves musings and flame wars

Censored by The Grauniad

leave a comment »

The following comment of mine on this Grauniad Comment is Free post was censored by the Grauniad mods. Can anyone tell me why?

  1. The fact that 6 million Jews were butchered by the Nazis during WWII does not give their (the victims’) descendants and co-religionists a monopoly on being right
  2. The fact that 6 million Jews were butchered by the Nazis during WWII does not mean their (the Nazis’) descendants are morally responsible and guilty for the Holocaust
  3. Grass was a member of the Waffen-SS in his youth. We all make mistakes when young. The important point is whether we realise we have made mistakes and make efforts not to repeat them, not whether a mistake made in the immaturity of one’s youth taints the future forever
  4. Attacking Grass not because of any mistake in his argument but because of his past is an ad hominem argument and speaks more to the character of the person making such an argument rather than Grass’

The above comment as followed up by a comment to which I replied

What is wrong in writing the poem in a highly personal manner? Given that the only words in German I know are Frau, Fraulein, Herr, Guten Tag, Guten Morgen, Danke, Bitte, Schnell, Gott in Himmel, and Scheisse (and german loanwords in English) I read the poem via google translate and read some commentary, none of which led me to believe that Grass was imagining himself as the victim of an Israeli *nuclear* attack. He was imagining himself as an Iranian who is the victim of an Israeli attack on Iran’s nuclear reactors. Why are we criticising someone who is attempting to put himself in another person’s shoes? I daresay that if the Nazis had done that we may not have had the Holocaust.

Ad hominem is a logical fallacy which conflates the merits of an argument with the character of the argument-maker. You can read more about the ad hominem fallacy here. And why is calling out logical fallacies *nonsense*?

The comment thread was closed by the time I could submit my second comment. After a while I realised that my earlier comment had also been deleted by the Grauniad mods. Did what I write in my first comment offensive in any manner? It had received atleast 10 recommends (last time I checked) before it was deleted. The Grauniad mods move in mysterious ways. The Grauniad comment policy is here and I fail to see what standards were breached.

Note: Since I had not saved my comments, I have tried to reproduce tham from memory as faithfully as possible. While the words and sentences used may be well different, the meaning conveyed by them is substantially the same

Written by Polevaulter Donkeyman

April 6, 2012 at 04:27

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

