Digital Cabinet

Polevaulter Donkeyman's rants, raves musings and flame wars

A Staggering Sense of Entitlement

with one comment



Context: July 1 is the birthday of Kalpana Chawla, one of the members of the ill-fated STS-107 mission using the space shuttle Columbia. She was an Indian-American astronaut. Born in India, she went to the US for graduate studies following which she joined NASA. She died in the Columbia disaster of 2003. On July 1, there was an eruption in the Indian twitterverse of tweets praising her and tweets asking celebs to RT tweets praising her. And if a celeb for some reason was a little late in responding to such tweets, they were challenged as to why they didn’t respond in time (according to the challenger). It is as if one is entitled to get a response to one’s tweets immediately. The following is a conversation with one such entitled person.

  1. AviBsharma
    @ShashiTharoor Today is the birthday of Late Kalpana Chawla, our very own Indian Astronaut #KalpanaChawla
  2. Nearly three and a half hours passed by with no response from @shashitharoor. But then again he, like most other people, has a life. But could someone tell that to @avibsharma?
  3. AviBsharma
    @ShashiTharoor Cricket is important sir but not wishing Late Kalpana Chawla on her birthday? Many tweeple sent you tweets but no response!
  4. PolvolterDnkymn
    @AviBsharma Wow. Is @shashitharoor your monkey that he must do whatever you ask of him? The entitlement culture is staggering
  5. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn @shashitharoor He is not my monkey but i expected him to do this at least as a mark of respect for a national hero/star!
  6. PolvolterDnkymn
    @AviBsharma “Expect”? Again is he your monkey? Why this entitlement? Why are you not bugging 1000s of people to remember B C Roy’s birthday?
  7. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn Isn’t that my choice? I did retweet tweets related to him and doctors day as well. Yeah, I’m guilty!
  8. If only other people were given that choice by @avibsharma
  9. PolvolterDnkymn
    @AviBsharma So it is your choice to tweet/RT but if some celeb doesn’t RT what you want them too, you start guilting them? Hypocrisy.

  1. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn Yeah they are! They should have tweeted without even a reminder. Hez celeb but also people’s representative!
  2. PolvolterDnkymn
    @AviBsharma Sorry, if I wasn’t clear but I am calling you the hypocrite. Why are you not bugging the celebs to RT B C Rpy’s B’day?
  3. That is a mispelling. I meant B C Roy
  4. Who cares about what other people feel. But they must feel what I feel.
  5. PolvolterDnkymn
    @AviBsharma Similarly others may not have the same feelings towards Kalpana Chawla as you do. Isn’t that fair enough? So why the bugging?
  6. PolvolterDnkymn
    @AviBsharma “Gandhi”? The discussion may have started with @shashitharoor but I am referring to your spamming of 100s of people
  7. Textbook chutzpah. One one hand you insinuate that @shashitharoor is a toady of the Gandhi dynasty and on the other hand you beg him to retweet you. Have you no shame?
  8. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn @shashitharoor I won’t stop and i guess you know that. Go report it to twitter, i don’t care! I am free to do that, isnt it
  9. PolvolterDnkymn
    @AviBsharma Of course you won’t stop. Your gargantuan sense of entitlement, that people should do what you want them to do, won’t let you
  10. AviBsharma
    @polvolterdnkymn Respecting and remembering a national hero should not be anyones choice, better be mandatory! Thank u for ur concern.
  11. The dictatorial tendency always comes out when challenged. And this is India’s future.
  12. PolvolterDnkymn
    @AviBsharma Yes how dare people be allowed to live their own lives how they see fit. So you have celebrated every Indian hero?
  13. PolvolterDnkymn
    @AviBsharma You better have a list of the birth day every Indian of any note. Negligence will not be tolerated!
  14. AviBsharma
    @polvolterdnkymn Almost all those i knew or someone informed me about. I can see crescendo in ur aggression with each passing tweet.
  15. “Crescendo in ur aggression with each passing tweet.” HAHAHAHA, wonderfully passive aggressive.
  16. AviBsharma
    @polvolterdnkymn 1. I didn’t tweet you. 2. Not a single complained to me. 3. It trended means ppl supported me.
  17. PolvolterDnkymn
    @Abhilash__R 1. Your tweet was not a DM. It was equivalent to shouting publicly. 2. I am complaining, others may not care enough
  18. This tweet was addressed to the wrong person. It was, of course, meant for @avibsharma
  19. ShashiTharoor
    @AviBsharma sorry,I retweeted someone else’s photo tribute before seeing your request. Btw, she’s an American astronaut (of Indian descent)
  20. @shashitharoor finally RTs someone else’s Kalpana Chawla tribute tweet. Of course, now let the victory dance begin
  21. That, in @avibsharma’s world vindicates harassment, pestering and whining. Unfortunately for @avibsharma, in my world it doesn’t. Over? Who says it’s over? I heard no fat lady sing.
  22. PolvolterDnkymn
    @AviBsharma Awwwwwwwwwwwwwww cho chweet! But <shock/horro/gasp!> @shashitharoor RTed someone’s tweet re: Kalpana Chawla
  23. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn @shashitharoor The message/tribute was important irrespective of whose tweet it was! You don’t respect my sentiments.
  24. PolvolterDnkymn
    @AviBsharma Correct! I don’t respect your sentiments. Because the only way your sentiments are respected is for people to follow your orders
  25. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn Thank you, there are certain people who shall/will always be respected by all & Kalpana Chawla is one of them!
  1. PolvolterDnkymn
    @AviBsharma And such people will be horrified by your actions in pestering others to honour and respect them
  2. PolvolterDnkymn
    @AviBsharma In fact such heroes will find it the sign of a dictatorship that honouring and respecting them has been made mandatory
  3. PolvolterDnkymn
    @AviBsharma The heroism of such people is not diminished by people forgetting to tweet and RT them on twitter
  4. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn there will be difference in magnitude of emotions evolved but on hatred & thus remembering her on b’day is no offence!
  5. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn I was only trying to add a reminder for those who might have forgotten her but there respect is intact even now!
  6. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn yeah but what is the problem with me adding an reminder? I have done it successfully already! Why drag it so far?
  7. PolvolterDnkymn
    @AviBsharma Because yr motives are impure. You want to force others to think like you you want an RT so that your name is assoc w/ celebs
  8. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn I am particularly disappointed with media who failed to even write online tribute/remembrance for her.
  9. Easiest thing to bash — the media.
  10. PolvolterDnkymn
    @AviBsharma So what? Write a good article on Kalpana, why she inspires u & tweet that. If people like it they will RT. U don’t have w pester
  11. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn 1. Not force, remind them. 2. My tweet was taken up by other tweeples & sent to many celebs, its called co-operation!
  12. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn Many people copied my tweet & pasted it to celebs, i didn’t object because i wanted the msg to reach as far as possible!
  13. PolvolterDnkymn
    @AviBsharma Why “RT”? So that your name is assoc w/ celeb? WHy not just ask them to remember said hero? Because then you won’t get publicity
  14. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn How I spread it from my personal account is a my concern and my choice. Sorry, its my choice.
  15. Choice for me good. Choice for others bad. See here
  16. PolvolterDnkymn
    @AviBsharma You have the right to do whatever you want with your twitter a/c. BUT you don’t have the right to be not criticised.
  17. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn 1. Read this line “Many tweeple sent you tweets but no response!”.. isn’t that a reminder or request for god’s sake?
  18. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn These are my last tweets on this issue: The point and personality in ques is much larger, quibble my ways all day if u want
  19. “Last tweets”? No, not really.
  20. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn I did what was best to bring the event to the notice of tweeple & i was successful in this task.
  21. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn How many new followers i got? may be 14! Don’t belittle me by saying that i wanted RT to increase handful of followers.
  22. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn You see the difference, you have 9 & i have 1350! I don’t care about followers number anymore, i care for content!
  23. @avibsharma may have more followers than I do. But we all know I have the bigger penis.
  24. PolvolterDnkymn
    If you don’t care about follower #s why mention them? MT @AviBsharma: @PolvolterDnkymn you have 9 i have 1350! I don’t care about follower #
  25. PolvolterDnkymn
    @AviBsharma Then why ask for RTs? Why not just ask your intended recipient to remember the person for a little while?
  26. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn I could have done that, correct, but didn’t! As simple as that. This is how it is usually done & i follower w/o intentions!
  27. PolvolterDnkymn
    @AviBsharma Just because it’s usually done this way doesn’t make it right. Next time u want 2 remind someone, remind them, don’t beg for RT
  28. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn Yeah, i didn’t but again, it was purely unintentional. My only aim was to raise awareness, not myself.
  29. PolvolterDnkymn
    @AviBsharma Are you going to make a commitment not to ask for RTs then? Only remind them? If not then your intentions are clear
  30. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn Most probably yes. I will add aggressive reminder full of emotional message but avoid RT, most likely scenario!
  31. PolvolterDnkymn
    @AviBsharma “Aggressive Reminder” HAHAHAHA. So you won’t stop your bullying, hectoring and pestering?
  1. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn Ha ha, now you cannot guide me to tell you about content. You point was RT, i gave you an answer. Don’t overdo it!
  2. PolvolterDnkymn
    @AviBsharma Dude I don’t care hoe you modify. If you ask for RT, it means asking for publicity. Aggressively tweeting others = pestering
  3. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn With all decorous, i request you to more on. I won’t deny a congruence with you, we might disagree but did it respectfully!
  4. PolvolterDnkymn
    @AviBsharma As you said in http://is.gd/oymyLT its my choice. I have been plainspoken with you. I can’t help it if you feel disrespected
  5. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn Listen, Its not a official file noting that you are countering me. I did it, ask my 1350 follower to know intentions!
  6. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn I again repeat just for the sake of it: My intentions were not to gain follower, nor did i!
  7. PolvolterDnkymn
    @AviBsharma As I said previously, if publicity not yr motive then why ask for RTs? If motive is to remind why not just ask them to remember?
  8. Now a little digression. Another RT request for @shashitharoor, but this one was not like all the other ones.
  9. PolvolterDnkymn
    Specially for @AviBsharma RT @praniet: @ShashiTharoor Please retweet this just because you have been retweeting everything today.
  10. That, of course, got someone’s goat.
  11. Digression over
  12. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn Its ceasefire from my side, won’t reply any more on this issue. On anything else, welcome to talk “w/o following me” :P
  13. Not really. Somehow reminds me of Bashar al-Assad
  14. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn I didn’t beg firstly, second i didn’t tweet you & thus, it none of your biz and third, please excuse me.
  15. Here is a representative selection
  16. PolvolterDnkymn
    @AviBsharma The cause being — Hey look at @AviBsharma: He is so caring and proud of Indians. Must follow him!
  17. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn 1. Spam: Twitter decides & it didn’t stop me. 2. Emotionally blackmail: i tweet straight from my heart. 3. Pester: No one!
  18. PolvolterDnkymn
    @AviBsharma “Spam is the use of electronic messaging systems to send unsolicited bulk messages indiscriminately.” http://v.gd/UfwYAr
  19. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn Indiscriminately? No. I sent them with careful distinction between who might be interested.
  20. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn Why don’t you lodge a complaint with twitter of spam (which i didn’t do to you at least)? They are canonical for action!
  21. PolvolterDnkymn
    @AviBsharma “Careful distinction” HAHAHAHA. Atleast you did not spam @ipoonampandey. Have to commend you for that atleast.
  22. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn @ipoonampandey Careful distinction: I tweeted this to my friends on twitter and top celebs that twitter suggested.
  23. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn Yeah, top Indian tweeple who are intellectual enough to understand the event. You cannot choose those for me again!
  24. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn Last tweets on this issue (finally!): Content of my tweets might pester some, let them block or avoid me for it.
  25. Not yet.
  26. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn I won’t at least criticism someone on a noble cause. I didn’t tweet to you, so don’t be upset. Why we are talking anyway!
  27. PolvolterDnkymn
    @AviBsharma Upset moi? We are talking because I criticised you for expecting others to do your bidding which led to you being butthurt
  1. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn Good Night & hope that you will come up with a topic that will talk about improving my country. Cheers!
  2. I can see the finish line now (hopefully)
  3. PolvolterDnkymn
    @AviBsharma Yes, of course. Pestering people for RTing birthdays will lead to any nation’s improvement
  4. AviBsharma
    @PolvolterDnkymn Remembering extraordinary people & the message they preached! You won’t understand, Good luck anyway.
  5. PolvolterDnkymn
    @AviBsharma Yes remembering extraord people by bullying others to remember them. Not sure if such efforts are appreciated by the honorees
  6. PolvolterDnkymn
    @AviBsharma Exactly right. I don’t understand this bullying and pestering to make people do your bidding
  7. AviBsharma
    @forsome2 @PolvolterDnkymn He can quibble all day without seeing if the cause is noble or not, find some peccadillo & then castigate!
  8. Yes. Pestering, whining, bullying people is a pecadillo. Boasting of taking choice away from people is a pecadillo. And how dare anyone disagree?

Written by Polevaulter Donkeyman

July 2, 2012 at 13:56

Posted in Flame Wars

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.


Leave a Reply

